TMC bags all 3 seats in WB by-polls
   Date :29-Nov-2019
IN A major boost for the ruling Trinamool Congress in West Bengal, the party on Thursday bagged all the three Assembly seats where by-polls were held on November 25 by trouncing the BJP. The TMC won the Kaliaganj, Kharagpur Sadar and Karimpur by-polls. The BJP emerged in the second position in all the three seats. Tapan Deb Sinha of TMC won the Kaliaganj seat in a close contest, defeating his nearest BJP rival Kamal Chandra Sarkar by 2,418 votes, EC officials said. Kaliaganj is an Assembly segment under Raiganj Lok Sabha constituency, which the BJP had won a few months ago. In the 2019 parliamentary election BJP had a lead of over 56,000 votes in the segment.
TMC’s Pradip Sarkar wrested Kharagpur Sadar seat from BJP, which came as a shock for the BJP as it was earlier held by the party’s state president Dilip Ghosh before he was elected to the Lok Sabha from the Medinipur seat. Sarkar defeated Premchandra Jha of BJP by a comfortable margin of 20,788 votes. BJP had a lead of nearly 45,000 votes in this seat during the Lok Sabha polls. Kharagpur Sadar in an Assembly segment in Medinipur Lok Sabha constituency.
The TMC candidate for Karimpur, Bimalendu Sinha Roy won by over 23910 votes defeating his BJP rival Jaiprakash Majumdar. TMC MP Mohua Mitra had bagged Karimpur in the last polls before she was elected to the Lok Sabha from Krishnanagar. TMC’s Sinha Roy bagged 103278 votes whereas his nearest rival Majumdar of BJP bagged 79368 votes.