President confers gallantry awards
   Date :15-Mar-2019

Delhi Bureau,
PRESIDENT Ram Nath Kovind conferred three Kirti Chakras and fifteen Shaurya Chakras to Armed Forces Personnel for displaying conspicuous gallantry, indomitable courage and extreme devotion to duty at a solemn ceremony at the Rashtrapati Bhawan in New Delhi on Thursday. Two Kirti Chakras and one Shaurya Chakra were given posthumously. Chief of Army Staff Bipin Rawat was conferred with the Param Vishisht Seva Medal by President Ramnath Kovind on Thursday for distinguished services. Army’s Sepoy VrahmaPal Singh and CRPF jawans Rajendra Nain and Ravindra Babban Dhanwade were decorated with the Kirti Chakra, India’s second highest peacetime gallantry award, posthumously.
Major Tushar Gauba of 20 Jat regiment was conferred with the Kirti Chakra for killing three terrorists in close combat along the Line of Control in Kupwara sector of Jammu and Kashmir. Twelve officers and jawans from the Army and CRPF were also decorated with the Shaurya Chakra, the third highest peacetime gallantry award.
Vice-President M Venkaiah Naidu, Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Defence Minister Nirmala Sitharaman were present on the occasion. The President also conferred fifteen ParamVishishtSeva Medals, one UttamYudh Seva Medals and twenty-five AtiVishisht Seva Medals to senior officers of the Armed Forces for distinguished service of an exceptional order. As many as 8 Marathi Speaking officers received these awards. Sappre Mahesh received Shaurya Chakra for the display of courage and valour while taking on terrorists in a village in J&K, killing a terrorist and avoiding untoward incident. Lieutenant General Manoj Mukund Naravane; Lieutenant General Sudarshan Shrikanth Hasabnis; and Major General Vijay Dnayandev Chowgule received Param VishishtSeva Medal Lieutenant General Shashank Tarakant Upasani; Air Commodore Dhananjay Vasant Khot; and Brigadier Sanjeev Langhe received AtivishishtSeva Medal.