Over 30 LS seats voting in 3rd phase have majority of Muslim voters
   Date :24-Apr-2019

OUT of the 115 Lok Sabha seats going to polls in the third phase of elections on April 23, over 30 constituencies spread across Assam, Kerala, Uttar Pradesh, Gujarat and West Bengal have substantial Muslim population while Christians have large population in the two seats of Goa and several Kerala constituencies.
The highest concentration of Muslims is in Assam’s Dhubri (67.4 per cent) and Malappuram (68 per cent) in Kerala. From Dhubri, All India United Democratic Front (AIDUF) chief Badruddin Ajmal is seeking re-election. Mallapuram is considered a bastion of Indian Union Muslim League(IUML).
Assam’s Barpeta has Muslim population of 52 per cent, Gauhati has 25 per cent and Kokrajhar 21 per cent -- all these seats will see polling on Tuesday. In Bihar, two out of five seats going to polls have Muslim population -- Araria (41 per cent) and Supaul (18 per cent).