BJP-Sena repeats 2014 show in Mah
   Date :24-May-2019
BJP won 12 and was leading in 11 seats while Shiv Sena won 10 and was leading in eight seats till midnight 
THE BJP-Shiv Sena combine was ahead in 41 of the 48 Lok Sabha constituencies in Maharashtra, as per trends and results declared till 11.50 pm on Thursday. While the BJP won 12 and was leading in 11 seats, the Sena won 10 and was leading in eight seats, poll officials said. The ruling alliance had secured 42 seats in 2014 elections. The Congress, which won two seats in 2014, suffered a setback, losing the Nanded seat and was leading in Chandrapur. The AIMIM was all set to have its first MP from the state as its nominee was on the verge of winning a keenly fought election in Aurangabad.
The NCP has won three seats and was ahead in one seat. An Independent also won the poll. The winners include senior BJP leaders and Union ministers Nitin Gadkari and Subhash Bhamre from Nagpur and Dhule seats respectively. All Congress candidates, including former Union minister Sushilkumar Shinde, state president Ashok Chavan and Mumbai unit chief Milind Deora, lost the polls. BJPs Sujay Vikhe Patil was leading over his NCP rival Sangram Jagtap in Ahmednagar.
The BJP nominee, son of Congress leader Radhakrishna Vikhe Patil, quit the Rahul Gandhi-led party to join the BJP ahead of the Lok Sabha polls. In Maval, sitting Shiv Sena MP Shrirang Barne defeated his NCP rival Parth Pawar, the grand nephew of former Union Minister Sharad Pawar. In Mumbai-North, BJPs Gopal Shetty defeated Congress nominee Urmila Matondkar. In Raver, BJPs Raksha Khadse trounced her Congress rival Ulhas Patil.

‘Modi wave’ became tsunami this time: Fadnavis
MAHARASHTRA Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis on Thursday hailed BJP-led NDA’s performance in the Lok Sabha elections saying the ‘Modi wave’ of the 2014 polls turned into a ‘tsunami’ this time. He was talking to reporters after the latest trends showed that the NDA appeared set to retain power at the Centre with a landslide margin. “In the previous election, there was a Modi wave.
Now, it has turned into a tsunami. Going by the current trends, I think our seats in Maharashtra are likely to go up. It has also increased our responsibilities,” he said. The BJP is set to return to power as it led in over 300 seats while the Congress trailed far behind with about 50, according to trends released by the Election Commission for all 542 seats that went to polls. In Maharashtra, out of the 48 seats, the BJP was leading in 23 seats, the Shiv Sena in 18, the NCP in four while the Congress, AIMIM and an Independent candidate were ahead in one seat each.
“The works of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and his appeal among the people have worked for us this time and we have secured a huge victory,” Fadnavis said. “The mandate would now give us sleepless nights as there are several issues to be addressed in the state. But people have put their trust in PM Modi and the BJP, and the efforts taken to resolve the issues before the country,” he added. Fadnavis also thanked Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray saying, “Both the parties (BJP and Sena) helped each other and maintained coordination. It helped both the parties in winning more number of seats as per the current trends.”