Fire fighting training must for hoteliers: Uchake
   Date :09-May-2019

Business Bureau:
THE hotel staff should be trained in handling fire safety equipments. They should also be trained to evacuate people when hotel catches fire, said Rajendra Uchake, Chief Fire Officer (CFO) of Fire Department, Nagpur Municipal Corporation (NMC). He was speaking at a seminar organised by Nagpur Residential Hotels Association (NRHA). Also present were Devendra Mahajan, General Manager (Environment) of Nagpur Smart and Sustainable City Development Corporation Limited (NSSCDCL). NRHA office-bearers on dais were Tejinder Singh Renu, President, Prakash Trivedi, IPP, Inderjeet Singh Baweja, Vice- President, Deepak Khurana, Secretary and Vinod Joshi, Treasurer. Uchake continued that schools, malls and hospitals of city regularly conduct fire mock drills with the help of Fire Department of NMC. “NRHA should also arrange such mock drills and training. We will conduct such training in batches so that every participant gets opportunity to handle fire safety equipments,” he said.
Recently Hotel and Restaurant Association of Western India (HRAWI) conducted session on fire marshal training at Mumbai. Motivated by the same, Nagpur Residential Hotels Association (NRHA) also decided to conduct similar training for its members and few responsible employees of member hotels. Tejinder Singh Renu in his address said, “Fire incident is an accident which can happen in any building and therefore it is necessity to get trained to handle such situation.”
Devendra Mahajan suggested that hoteliers should make best use of solar energy and also restrict usage of water. He also said that water harvesting should be done in all hotels. Also present were executive body members Govind Murliar, Ajay Jaiswal, Sanjay Agrawal, Tarun Motwani, Afzal Mitha, Vasudeo Trivedi, Mahesh Trivedi, Rishi Tuli, Mohd Anis Opai, NRHA Members Nagesh Wazalwar, Vijay Sawarkar, Amit Raghtate, Sharique Hafiz, Shivam Gupta, Suddu Vaidya, Manoj Shukla, Tushar Khurana, Chandrakant Chaurasiya, Arjun Bundiwal, Rajendra Huda, Shyamshankar Mishra, Madhusudan Trivedi, Vishal Jaiswal, Manoj Awachat, Naveen Kewalramani, Dhanraj Meshram and others.