Kovind honours 46 teachers
   Date :06-Sep-2019

PRESIDENT Ram Nath Kovind conferred the National Awards to 46 teachers at Vigyan Bhawan here on Thursday on the occasion of Teachers’ Day. Teachers from Punjab, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Sikkim, Rajasthan and Jharkhand received the prestigious awards for their innovation and making their classes interesting. Officials said that this is for the first time that a teacher from an army school, which is governed by the Defence Ministry, has also been included to the list of the award winners.
The national-level awards are given to teachers on this special occasion to celebrate the unique contribution of some of the finest teachers in the country and to honour those who have not only improved the quality of school education but also enriched the lives of their students. The list of awardees includes Rajesh Kumar of Government Senior Secondary School Mohanpur(Haryana), Vikas Mahajan, Government Boys Senior Secondary School Chamba(Himachal Pradesh), Gurnam Singh, Government Upper Primary School Lahari(Jammu & Kashmir), Kalpana Sharma, Swani Vivekanand Government Model School Banera(Rajasthan), Lalit Mehta, Government Higher Secondary School of Excellence, Ratlam(Madhya Pradesh), A Devendra Kumar, Shaheed Bhai Bal Mukund Government Sarvodaya Vidyalaya(Delhi), Virendra Shantubhai Patel, Government Upper Primary School Bhimpore Ashramshala(Daman & Diu) and R C Suvarna Fonseca Carmel Higher Secondary(Goa). Apart from these, Bijay Kumar Pandey, an English teacher of Sainik school, Ambikapur,(Chattisgarh) and A Jubin Geol, from Automotive Energy Central School Mumbai under Department of Automatic Energy were also conferred with the awards.