TMC nominates 4 candidates for RS polls in WB
   Date :09-Mar-2020
TMC _1  H x W:
TRINAMOOL Congress (TMC) chief Mamata Banerjee on Sunday announced the names of Arpita Ghosh, Mausam Noor, Dinesh Trivedi and Subrata Bakshi as the party candidates for the upcoming Rajya Sabha polls. In a tweet, the West Bengal Chief Minister said in keeping with her “constant endeavour” towards women’s empowerment, she was proud that half of the TMC nominees for the March 26 polls were women. While Noor lost from the Malda Uttar seat in last year’s Lok Sabha polls, Ghosh had unsuccessfully contested from Balurghat and Dinesh Trivedi from the Barrackpore constituency.
Bakshi did not contest from Kolkata Dakshin, the seat he had won in the 2014 Lok Sabha polls. TMC sources said Banerjee’s decision to nominate two women for the Rajya Sabha polls was part of her objective to bring more women in parliamentary politics and delegate responsibility. Rajya Sabha polls to the five seats of West Bengal will be held on March 26.