Adesh Kumar Gupta named Delhi BJP chief, Vishnu Deo Sai to head C’garh unit
   Date :03-Jun-2020

Adesh Kumar Gupta _1 
Gupta replaces Manoj Tiwari who had offered to quit after the BJP lost to AAP in the Delhi Assembly polls and his term was also over 
THE Bharatiya Janata Party on Tuesday appointed Adesh Kumar Gupta as its Delhi unit chief and Tribal leader and former Union Minister Vishnu Deo Sai as its Chhattisgarh State President, the party said in a statement. Gupta is a former Mayor of north Delhi Municipal Corporation and replaces Manoj Tiwari, a member of Lok Sabha, at the helm in the Delhi BJP.

manoj tiwari_1   
Tiwari had offered to quit after the BJP lost to the Aam Aadmi Party in the Delhi Assembly polls and his term was also over. Sai was a Union Minister in the first Modi Government but could not contest the 2019 Lok Sabha polls after the BJP decided to not repeat any of its sitting MPs in Chhattisgarh after losing to the Congress in the Assembly polls. He replaces Vikram Usendi. In another appointment, the party made S Tikendra Singh its Manipur State president. These are the first important organisational appointments in the BJP after the coronavirus outbreak curbed political activities and the party primarily focussed on steering relief work for people affected by the lockdown. The development signals, to some extent, a return of regular political activities as lockdown restrictions across the country are relaxed.
While announcing the appointment of Vishnu Deo Sai as the State President for Chhattisgarh, BJP National President Jagat Prakash Nadda extended his best wishes for the new responsibility. The appointment came into force with immediate affect. Vishnu Deo Sai (56), who is very close to party Central leadership and Rashtriya Swayamsewak Sangh, is also a close confidant of BJP National Vice President Dr Raman Singh. Sai is taking over as the President of the State unit for the third time.
Earlier in 2006 to 2009 and then till 2013 he was the State President. He had represented Raigarh Parliamentary Constituency four times from 1999 to 2014. However, after being appointed as Union Minister of State in the first term of NDA Government under Prime Minister Narendra Modi, he had resigned from the post of State Party President. Sai’s third term as State Party President is till next Assembly elections.