CAF band pays tribute to martyrs, corona warriors
   Date :02-Aug-2020

CAF _1  H x W:
 The band of Chhattisgarh Armed Force’s first battalion.
Staff Reporter ;
Police Parade Ground in Raipur on Friday echoed by the tune of patriotic songs played by the band of Chhattisgarh Armed Force (CAF) during ‘Swatantrata Diwas Mahotsav’. Aiming to pay tribute to martyrs and frontline corona warriors, ‘Swatantrata Diwas Mahotsav’ is being organised by the Ministry of Defence in association with the Information and Broadcasting Ministry from August 1. Under this programme, the army and police force will be presenting live band concerts in 33 cities across the country. It is a matter of pride for Chhattisgarh that the live band concert under ‘Swatantrata Diwas Mahotsav’ to be held in 33 cities across the country commenced from Raipur.
The programme is going to be concluding on August 13. The concert in Raipur’s Police Parade Ground started with a performance on the state’s official song ‘Arpa Pairi Ke Dhaar, Mahanadi he apaar’, written by Dr Narendra Dev Verma. Later, the live band concert by CAF’S 1ST Battalion (Bhilai) was followed by popular patriotic songs including aye mere vatan ke logon; sandeshe aate hain; ye desh hai veer javaanon ka; aye mere pyaare vatan; hai preet jahaan kee reet sada; ye desh hai veer javaanon ka and others. Along with martyrs, tribute was paid to corona warriors who lost their lives on the line of duty.
It is to be mentioned here that for ‘Swatantrata Diwas Mahotsav’, the cities with historic importance and linked to the freedom struggle have been selected for the concert. Since Chhattisgarh’s Raipur was a key centre of the freedom movement, it has been selected for the live band concert. Director General of Police (DGP) D M Awasthi, Additional Director General (ADG) Ashok Juneja, Raipur Range Inspector General of Police Dr Anand Chhabra, Deputy Inspector General (DIG) H R Manhar, Senior Superintendent of Police (SSP) Ajay Yadav, Raipur Collector Dr S Bharathi Dasan, Commandant Govardhan Thakur, Vijay Agrawal and others were present during the ceremony.