Harivansh Narayan Singh re-elected RS Dy Chairman
   Date :15-Sep-2020

RS Dy Chairman_1 &nb
Delhi Bureau and Agencies :
RAJYA Sabha on Monday re-elected Janata Dal (United) parliamentarian Harivansh Narayan Singh as Deputy Chairman of the Upper House by voice vote. Harivansh’s name was proposed by BJP President and party MP Jagat Prakash Nadda. Leader of the House Thavarchand Gehlot seconded it. The Opposition had fielded Manoj Jha, an RJD member.
Soon after the election, MPs from various political parties congratulated Harivansh. In 2018, Harivansh had defeated Congress’ B K Hariprasad in the election to the post. Prime Minister Narendra Modi also congratulated him for being re-elected. The election was necessitated as Harivansh completed his term as a member of Rajya Sabha this year. BJD on Monday extended support to NDA candidate Harivansh Narayan Singh in the election for Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman drawing sharp criticism from the Congress which said the regional party’s true face has been revealed.
A release by the Chief Minister’s office said Patnaik announced his party’s support for Singh after JD(U) chief and his Bihar counterpart called him up in the morning, a CMO release said. Kumar had called him up on September 10 too and had requested him to support Singh, a JD(U) MP who had filed his nomination on Wednesday.