‘Dr Govind Upadhyay dedicated his life to the service for others’
   Date :19-Jan-2021

TN Governor Banwarilal Pu
 Governor of Tamil Nadu Banwarilal Purohit felicitating Dr Govind Prasad Upadhyay while Rajesh Loya, Dayashankar Tiwari and others look on. (Pics by Satish Raut)
Staff Reporter :
Dr Govind Prasad Upadhyay conferred with ‘Padma Shri Dr Vikram Marwah Chikitsak Hindi Seva Samman’
“One should perform one’s duties selflessly without expecting praises from people. Today’s felicitation event and this huge gathering is for one such person -- Dr Govind Prasad Upadhyay, who dedicated his entire life to the service for others,” said Governor of Tamil Nadu Banwarilal Purohit on Monday. Purohit was the chief guest at ‘Padma Shri Dr Vikram Marwah Chikitsak Hindi Seva Samman’ award function conducted by Vidarbha Seva Samiti at Press Club. He felicitated Dr Govind Prasad Upadhyay with the prestigious award.

Banwarilal Purohit_1  
Tamil Nadu Governor Banwarilal Purohit, Rajesh Loya, Dayashankar Tiwari, Dr Govind Prasad Upadhyay, Dr Santosh Modi and Anand Nirban releasing a book during the event.
“Honesty is going to take you places in life that you never could have dreamed of and it is the easiest thing you can practice in order to be happy, successful and satisfied,” said Purohit. Governor of Tamil Nadu appreciated the work of Vidarbha Seva Samiti and their efforts to honour people who are serving the society. “It is a difficult task to find a real gem in the crowd. Vidarbha Seva Samiti is doing it from last many years and this year they honoured Dr Upadhyay,” he added. Purohit also talked about Padma Shri Dr Vikram Marwah and his first meeting with him. While talking about Ayurveda, Purohit said, “Government of India is doing commendable job to promote Ayurveda and Ministry of Ayush is a big achievement.”
Dr Upadhyay in his speech thanked Vidarbha Seva Samiti for the award. “Dr Marwah was my role model and this award is a great honour for me,” he added. Dr Upadhyay was honoured with shawl, shreeful, bouquet, memento and a cash prize of Rs 21,000 during the ceremony. However, Dr Upadhyay donated the cash prize to Vidarbha Seva Samiti for their social service. Rajesh Loya, Mahanagar Sanghchalak, RSS, was the guest of honour of the programme. Mayor Dayashankar Tiwari, Dr Upadhyay and Dr Santosh Modi, Working President, Vidarbha Seva Samiti also shared the dais.
Dr Santosh Modi made the introductory remarks. Anand Nirban, President, Vidarbha Seva Samiti, compered the event. Dharampal Singh donated a cheque of Rs 11 lakh to Rajesh Loya for construction of Ramjanmabhoomi at the function. Rajendra Bansal, Dharampal Agrawal, Dr Lokendra Singh, Darpan Agrawal, Sanjay Bhende, Jaiprakash Parekh, Kishan Sharma, Sanjay Pandey, Ajay Pandey, Shrikant Dubey, Dr Anil Sharma, Yogesh Paliwal, Vishnu Kumar Pacheriwala, Sachin Tarun Nirban, Govind Pasari, Nandkishor Bhagat, Kukku Marwah, Atul Kotecha, S P Singh, Ashok Mohota, Dr Premlata Tiwari, Ramkrishna Gupta, Durgaprasad Agrawal, Mahendra Kataria, Dr Rajendra Patoriya, Dr Shashikant Sharma, Shashi Bhargav, Atul Trivedi, Vasat Paliwal, Dinanath Shukla, Ashok Trivedi and others also were present at the function.