Azadi ka Amrit Mahotsav: Navy to conduct Offshore Sailing Regatta from Kochi to Goa
   Date :24-Oct-2021

azaadi_1  H x W
A team of Naval officers with Indian Naval Sailing Vessel Tarini at the Naval Base in Kochi on Saturday. Tarini completed
circumnavigation of the globe ‘Navika Sagar Parikrama’ in 2017 with all women crew. (PTI)
AS part of commemorative activities of Azadi ka Amrit Mahotsav, the Indian Navy is conducting an Offshore Sailing Regatta from Kochi to Goa under the aegis of the Indian Naval Sailing Association (INSA). Six Indian Naval Sailing Vessels (INSVs) viz Mhadei, Tarini, Bulbul, Neelkanth, Kadalpura and Hariyal will be participating in this event. The race is scheduled to start on 24 Oct 21 for a tentative duration of five days and would cover an approximate distance of 360 nm between the start point at Naval Base, Kochi to Goa. The expedition is aimed at fostering the spirit of adventure and ocean sailing for the participating crew, as per an official press release. Each of the six INSVs - four 40 footers and two 56 footers, would be manned by six naval personnel drawn from three Commands of Navy, the ANC and IHQ MoD (Navy).
In addition, Ocean Yachts from Yachting Association of India (YAI) affiliated civilian clubs would also be participating in the event. The expedition is being organised by HQSNC and the Indian Navy’s Ocean Sailing Node (OSN), located at INS Mandovi, Goa. The participants have been practising for this event over the last one month and have also undergone a Capsule Course at Kochi to hone their skills. Indian Navy participants include Capt Vipul Meherishi, Capt Atool Sinha, Lt Cdr K Pednekar, Lt Cdr Payal Gupta etc, who have won medals in various events at the National level and are representing different Commands. Two 56 footers participating in this Regatta have already made history in the Indian Navy by participating in circumnavigation. Mhadei has done solo circumnavigation ‘Sagar Parikrama’ with Capt Dilip Donde in 2010 and Cdr Abhilash Tomy in 2013.