GM Sadhwani pockets crown
   Date :05-Oct-2021

GM Sadhwani_1  
Sports Reporter :
GRANDMASTER Raunak Sadhwani emerged champion in the Vidarbha-level Open Chess Tournament organised by Nature Grin in association with ZMile Future Pvt Ltd and Nagpur District Chess Association (NDCA) on Sunday. Sadhwani continued his winning streak from the first round to the final round scoring full seven points. Sadhwani was followed by Krish Bawangade at the second spot with six points while Siddhant Gawai stood third. Suhan Deshpande was fourth with five points and Himanshu Jethwani was fifth. At the outset, the event was inaugurated at the hands of Dr Bhikkhu Samyakbodhi and NDCA Secretary KK Barat at Hotel LB, Sadar. CA Vikram Borkar was the chief guest for the inauguration ceremony. National Chess player Nayandeep Kothangale, Saloni AM and Amit PM, Founder and Director of Nature Grin Z Mile Future Pvt Ltd were prominently present during the inauguration. Winners were awarded with certificates by Borkar, Saloni and Amit.
The event was moderated by Chief Arbiter Praveen Pantawane and vote of thanks was proposed by Akash Mendhe, Business Head, Nature Grin & Z Mile Future Pvt. Ltd. The winner of this tournament will be awarded Rs 30,000 cash, runner-up will be awarded Rs 15,000 and for the third placed player will pocket Rs 5,000 along with trophies during a prize distribution ceremony on October 19. Jyoti Amge, who holds world record as the smallest woman in the world, will give away prizes. FINAL STANDING (Top Ten) Raunak Sadhwani (7), Krish Bawangade (6), Siddhant Gavai (5.5), Suhan Deshpande (5), Himanshu Jethwani (5), Nirman Pohane (5), Dishank Bajaj (5), Rashmika M (5), Ameya Padmavar (4.5), Aarith Thakur (4.5).