Congress dominates ZP, PS bypoll results in distt
    Date :08-Oct-2021

polls_1  H x W:
Staff Reporter :
The ruling Congress party dominated the results of Zilla Parishad (ZP) and Panchayat Samiti (PS) bypolls in Nagpur district. In the bypolls for total 16 seats of ZP, Congress won nine. Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won three, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) won two, Shetkari Kamgar Paksha (SKP) won one, and Gondwana Gantantra Party (GGP)/Prahar won one. Prior to the bypolls, the 58-member Nagpur ZP House comprised 30 members of Congress, 10 of NCP, 15 of BJP. Shiv Sena, SKP, and Independent had one seat each. Congress, NCP, SKP formed the ruling alliance. Following the Supreme Court order on OBC reservation, 16 members of ZP lost their membership. They included seven of Congress, four each of BJP, NCP, and SKP. In the bypolls, Congress contested 10 seats, BJP 10, NCP five, SKP one. While the Congress-NCP-SKP contested in alliance, Shiv Sena was not party of it and went solo by fielding its candidates.
After the polling on October 5, counting of votes was done on October 6. As per the results, Congress won nine out of 10 seats it contested, NCP won only two out of five, BJP won only three out of 10, and SKP retained its seat. Shiv Sena could not win a single seat. The party-wise and circle-wise winning candidates are as follows: Congress -- Sumitra Kumbhare (Kelvad), Jyoti Shiraskar (Wakodi), Arun Hatwar (Rajola), Dinesh Dhole (Gumthala), Avantika Lekurwale (Wadoda), Yogesh Deshmukh (Aroli), Archana Bhoyar (Karambhad), Sanjay Jagtap (Nildoh), Kunda Raut (Godhani Railway); BJP -- Archana Giri (Digdoh-Isasani), Meenakshi Sarode (Paradsinga), Parwati Kalbande (Sawargaon); NCP -- Rashmi Kotgule (Digdoh), Pravin Jodh (Bhishnoor); GGP/Prahar -- Harichandra Uikey (Bothiya Palora), and SKP -- Sameer Umap (Yenwa). Of 31 seats of PS that went to bypolls, Congress won 21, BJP won six, NCP won two, and Bahujan Samaj Party and GGP won a seat each. Sunil Kedar, Animal Husbandry Minister, who mounted a hectic campaign for bypolls, congratulated Congress workers and said that people of the district had reposed faith in the party owing to work it did during its rule so far in ZP. Dr Nitin Raut, Guardian Minister, also congratulated party workers. Rajendra Mulak, District President of the party, stated that BJP had suffered a massive defeat and Congress emerged a clear winner.