All-round Vidarbha in QF Beat Tripura by 34 runs, to play Saurashtra next
   Date :20-Dec-2021

QF Beat Tripura _1 &
Sports Reporter :
BATSMEN and bowlers complemented each other as an all-round show by Vidarbha helped them get past a fighting Tripura by 34 runs in their Vijay Hazare Trophy pre-quarterfinals at Sawai Mansingh Stadium on Sunday. After being put into bat and an early wicket in the form of skipper Faiz Fazal, who fell for a nought, Vidarbha made a competitive 258-7 with half centuries from opener Atharva Taide and Yash Rathod. Vidarbha pacers Yash Thakur and Darshan Nalkande picked four and three wickets respectively to trigger a middle and lower order collapse as Tripura, after being given a solid start could not capitalise and were bowled out for 224 with four balls remaining. Faiz, who hit an unbeaten hundred in the last game, found the going tough and could no score from eight balls. Taide (51; 58b, 7x4) and Ganesh Satish (40; 70b, 4x4), who started with a first ball four, mixed caution and aggression to take the score to 82.
After both got out, Rathod (57; 63b, 5x4) and Akshay Wadkar (41; 59b, 3x4) added 92 runs for the fourth wicket. Apoorv Wankhade (26; 18b, 3x4) and all-rounder Aditya Sarvate (25*; 19b, 2x4) played some bold but safe shots to take the score past 250 mark. Tripura were given a great start to the chase by openers Bishal Ghosh (44; 64b, 4x4) and Bikramkumar Das (61; 100b, 3x4) who put on 96 runs. Part-timer Taide gave team the much-needed breakthrough. New man Samit Gohel (32; 41b, 4x4) added 49 runs with Das. The next five overs changed the game on its head. Thakur (9.2-0-45-4) claimed three quick wickets, Faiz and Taide effected a run out each and soon Tripura, going nicely at 145-1 in 33.2 overs were 164-6 in 38.3 overs. They did not recover as Nalkande (9-0-41-3) polished off the tail. Sarvate and Akshay Wakhare did not pick wickets but choked off the flow of runs. Substitute Jitesh Sharma, who kept wickets in place of Wadkar, also played his part with three catches. In the entire match, not a single six was hit by either teams, a rarity these days. Vidarbha will take on Elite Group C winners Saurashtra in the quarters on December 22.