Malak wins coveted VGA trophy
   Date :22-Dec-2021

Malak wins_1
Principal Correspondent :
Noor Malak clinched the coveted VGA trophy on Best Gross while Brig Samir Varma finished second of the annual Vidarbha Golf Association’s VGA Cup held at AKSTA, Vayu Sena Nagar extension, Amravati Road. More than 100 golfers of the region participated in Open, Veterans (above 60 years), Super Veterans (above 75 years) and Dependents. In addition, ladies Putting competition was also organised. The VGA Veterans’ Trophy, in memory of late Sanjay Joshi, was won by Wg Cdr Amitabh Bhattacharya.
Maj Gen Ajit Gadre finished runners-up. The Best Gross winner in Open category was Ajit Ingole and runners-up was Lt Col S Unni. The other winners were Longest Drive Anuj Singh, Closest to Pin Swapnil Munde, Closest to Center Line Harshwardhan Gajbhiye. In the Super Veterans’ category, Gp Capt Dinoo Deshpande emerged gross score winner and SK Guruwara finished second. The ladies putting competition was won by Apeksha Munde and Anjali Chaudhary won second prize. Aviva was also given participation prize. In the Dependents category, Jigrr Deshmukh bagged the first prize and Yug Sharma won the runners-up trophy.
The Veterans’ Longest Drive was hit by Col SJ Majumdar and Closest to Center Line was hit by Vinay Tule. Earlier, the tournament was inaugurated by Air Marshal Shashiker Choudhary AVSM VSM ADC, AOC-in-C Maintenance Command and Patron AKSTA. Air Marshal M Baladitya, AVSM VSM, SMSO HQ MC presented the awards in presence senior officers of HQ MC AVM MV Rama Rao VM, SAASO, AVM CR Mohan VSM, AOES and Chairman AKSTA, AVM SV Borade VSM Dy SMSO, VGA President Dr Prashant Agnihotri, Dr Arun Chaturvedi, Hon Secretary VGA, Gp Capt Rajiv Shrivastava Captain AKSTA, Gp Capt DP Mishra Secretary AKSTA and all other distinguished guests.