Sarvate shines in Vidarbha win
   Date :23-Feb-2021

Sarvate _1  H x
Sports Reporter :
IT WAS a day Vidarbha all-rounder Aditya Sarvate could do no wrong. He bowled beautifully to remove three of the top four Madhya Pradesh batsmen, effected two run outs and when the equation got tougher, used the willow to help the team home. After six loses in the white-ball matches, Vidarbha finally found the combination right getting past hosts MP by four wickets in their Elite Group B Vijay Hazare Trophy match at Emerald Heights International School Ground, Indore on Monday. After restricting MP to a sizeable 243-9 in 50 overs, Vidarbha made 246 with four wickets intact and seven balls to spare.

chart_1  H x W: 
Madhya Pradesh elected to bat and received the first jolt when lanky seamer Aditya Thakare cleaned up Venkatesh Iyer for nought. Wicketkeeper-opener Abhishek Bhandari (31) and Shubham Sharma (36) added 55 runs for the second wicket before left-arm spinner Sarvate (3-39) removed both of them in space of 11 runs. Rajat Patidar (38) and Aditya Shrivastava (52; 67b, 3x4, 1x6) took the score from 73 to 131 when the former became Sarvate’s third victim. Skipper Parth Sahani (68*; 58b, 6x4, 3x6) and Shrivastava added a further 55 runs.
Shubham Dubey, making his List A debut, ran out Shrivastava and at the same score of 186, seamer Darshan Nalkande cleaned up new man Puneet Datey. Dubey picked his maiden wicket in Saransh Jain. Soon Sarvate effected those two runs outs sending back Kumar Kartikeya and Ishwar Pandey. Vidarbha skipper Faiz Fazal (43; 70b, 5x4) had a new partner in Sanjay Raghunath (32; 50b, 2x4, 1x6) and the two gave Vidarbha a compact start scoring 63 in 15.4 overs. Ganesh Satish (47; 66b, 2x4, 1x6) and Yash Rathod (39; 45b, 3x4, 1x4) also got starts When Vidarbha lost stumper and last of the recognised batsmen Akshay Wadkar (11), the team was 5-196 in 43 overs. Sarvate (39*; 23b, 5x4, 1x4) and Nalkande (19*; 16b, 1x4, 1x6) did not waste much time as Vidarbha reached the target. Vidarbha will next play table-toppers Jharkhand, who have won both their matches, on Wednesday.