Iyer keeps slate clean to win another title
   Date :10-Mar-2021

iyer_1  H x W:
Principal Correspondent :
SHIVA Iyer continued from where he left as he once again dominated the online blitz title winning all his games to emerge champion. The Nagpur District Chess Association organised Online Blitz Chess tournament has become Iyer’s pet event as he is been invincible for the last six successive competitions. In all he has now won eight blitz crowns. Overall his tally now stands at 15 titles which includes rapid and biltz at District, State and Vidarbha level. The competition was organised through ‘lichess.org’. Maintaining his unbeaten run, Iyer defeated Saksham Singh in the ninth and final round to emerge winner.
On his way to winning the title, Shiva defeated VK Shrivastava, Prerak Darvekar, Muktanand Pandsey, Dishank Bajaj, Jay Sawalakhe, Shubham Lakudkar, Suhan Deshpande, Siddhant Gawai and Saksham Singh. Darvekar finished second with 7 points while Lakudkar ended third.
The nine-round meet was conducted under the supervision of FA Umesh Panbude and IA Pravin Pantawane. Results (Round 9): Shiva Iyer (9) bt Saksham Singh (5.5), Jay Sawalakhe (6) lost to Prerak Darvekar (7), Siddhant Gawai (5.5) lost to Shubham Lakudkar (6.5), Muktanand Pendsey (6) bt Chaitanya Chaudhari (5), Nilay Kulkarni (6) bt Ayush Ramteke (5), Suhan Deshpande (6) bt Rudraksh Borkar (5), Dishank Bajaj (5) lost to Priyanshu Patil (6), Aniruddha Meshram (5) bt Shraddha Bajaj (4), Savinay Meshram (5) bt Prasanna Chandankhede (4). TOP TEN: Shiva Iyer (9), Prerak Darvekar (7), Shubham Lakudkar (6.5), Muktanand Pendsey (6), Nilay Kulkarni (6), Suhan Deshpande (6), Jay Sawalakhe (6), Priyanshu Patil (6), Saksham Singh (5.5), Siddhant Gawai (5.5).