75.02% voting till 6 pm in WB phase-VII polls
   Date :27-Apr-2021

WB phase VII polls_1 
AN estimated 75 per cent votes were cast on Monday in West Bengal in the seventh and penultimate phase of Assembly election, which was by and large peaceful, an EC official said. According to the EC, 75.02 per cent voter turnout was recorded till 5 pm in 34 seats where polling was held and is expected to go up as the polling ended at 6.30 PM. Voting began at 7 am in 12,068 polling stations spread over nine Assembly constituencies each in Murshidabad and Paschim Bardhaman districts, six each in Dakshin Dinajpur and Malda and four in Kolkata, including in Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee’s home turf Bhabanipur.
Out of these Malda, Murshidabad and Dakshin Dinajpur are minority dominated districts and the fight in these districts is between TMC and the Congress-ISF-Left alliance, except in a few pockets where the BJP has gained strength. Although the polling passed off more or less peacefully, but there were a few incidents of scuffle between rival party workers in some parts of the State. A few such incidents were reported from Asansol in Paschim Bardhaman district where TMC candidate Sayoni Ghosh claimed that BJP activists tried to jam booths in the constituency.