Stalin’s DMK wins in style with 133 seats
   Date :04-May-2021

DMK President M K Stalin_
BUILDING a strong narrative over the years against the AIADMK and BJP-led Governments in Tamil Nadu and the Centre, DMK President M K Stalin reaped huge success in Assembly polls, recreating the 2019 magic when he won the Lok Sabha polls hands down for his party and allies. The DMK has won 133 seats, and Congress bagged 18 seats, according to final tally.

tn_1  H x W: 0  
The AIADMK has won 66 constituencies while its ally the PMK won 5. Another partner BJP has won 4 seats. Other parties including CPI and CPI(M) and Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi (VCK) won 8 seats. Garnering two-thirds of the 234 seats, the 68-year old Stalin, through his sustained campaign has yet again ushered in a victory similar to that of the 2019 Parliamentary election win. The Tamil Nadu Chief Minister K Palaniswami tendered his resignation and that of his Cabinet and Governor Banwarilal Purohit accepted it, the Raj Bhawan said here on Monday.
“The Governor of Tamil Nadu accepted the resignation of Chief Minister Thiru Edappadi K Palaniswami and his Council of Ministers, with effect from the afternoon of 3.5.2021,” a Raj Bhawan release said. However, Purohit requested him and the present Council of Ministers to continue until alternative arrangements are made, the release added. Also, the “Governor has dissolved the 15th (2016-21) Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly.”