Physical education teachers to be feted today
   Date :16-Sep-2021

Dr Dhananjay Welukar _1&n
 Dr Dhananjay Welukar
Principal Correspondent :
PHYSICAL Education teachers of the region will be felicitated for their yeomen service in the field of sports. The felicitation programme is being organised by Maitree Pariwar which will be awarding several physical education teachers with Gaurav Adarsh Sharirik Shishak Awards every year. The maiden awards function will be held on Thursday at Sai Subhagrah, Shankar Nagar, at 5.30 pm. Dr Arjunsingh Rana, Vice-Chancellor, Swarnim Gujarat Sports University, Gandhinagar, will be the chief guest of the function. Principal Sanjay Bhende, President, Maitree Pariwar will preside over. Dr Sanjay Dudhe, Pro-VC, Pramod Pendke, Dr Sharad Suryawanshi, Director, Department of Physical Education and Sports, Rashtrasant Tukadoji Maharaj Nagpur University and others will also remain present. Dr Dhananjay Welukar has been selected for the first Lifetime Achievement Award. Ashfaque Sheikh, PET of Dadibai Deshmukh Hindu Mulinchi Shala will get the award in schools category along with Suhasini Bhore of Navjivan Matimand Shala. Dr Welukar has been selected for the award for his relentless services to sports in the city. Dr Welukar has devoted several years for the development of sports at RTMNU. At present, he is member of RTMNU Physical Education Teachers Association and Sant Gadge Baba Amravati University.
Dr Welukar has represented Maharashtra in basketball, athletics and handball. He was instrumental in organising Ashwamedh Sports Championship in Maharashtra. Dr Welukar is also the Technical Official of the under construction synthetic track of RTMNU as well as the proposed indoor stadium. He was instrumental in promoting basketball and handball in and around city. In college category, Dr Tejsingh Jagdale, HOD, Sports, Nabira Mahavidyalaya, Katol and Dr Kumud Charmode of Rani Laxmibai Mahila Mahavidyalaya, Sawargaon will get the awards. A selection committee under the chairmanship of Dr Sonali Sirbhate of Priyadarshini Mahila Mahavidlayaya, Wardha was formed to pick the winners. The committee also had Dr Subhash Gawande (Shivaji Arts and Commerce College, Amravati), Dr Asha Bengle (Abasaheb Garware College, Pune) and Dr Sanjay Tirathkar (Degree College of Physical Education, Hanuman Vyayam Prasarak Mandal, Amravati.