Vid take on Delhi in Hazare opener today
   Date :12-Nov-2022

Hazare opener today 
Principal Correspondent
Fresh from their top four finish in the recently held Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Tournament, Vidarbha seniors would look to go one step further and continue their good show in the longer format of the game when the Akshay Wadkar-led side lock horns with Delhi in the opening battle of the Vijay Hazare one-day league tournament at 22 Yards, Salt Lake, Kolkata on Saturday.
Vidarbha are placed in Group B along with Delhi, Assam, Rajasthan, Karnataka, Meghalaya, Sikkim and Jharkhand.
Vidarbha will be bolstered by the presence of double Ranji Trophy and Irani Cup-winning captain Faiz Fazal and senior pro Ganesh Satish who both have been included in the one-day squad.
Vidarbha’s middle order looks strong with hard-hitters Apoorv Wankhade and Jitesh Sharma.
Lanky seamer Nachiket Bhute, who did well in recently held VCA tournaments will look to make an impact immedlately while bowling alongside India pacer Umesh Yadav. The pace department also includes talented Darshan Nalkande and Lalit Yadav.
The spin section will be manned by seniors Aditya Sarvare and Akshay Karnewar. Delhi will be led by India 50-over captain Shikhar Dhawan. Their batting looks strong with Anuj Rawat, Nitish Rana, Yash Dhull and Ayusg Badoni. Their bowling, too, have the likes of India pacers Ishant Sharma, Navdeep Saini apart from Pradeep Sangwan.
The teams (from): Vidarbha: Akshay Wadkar (Captain), Atharva Taide (Vice-Captain), Faiz Fazal, R Sanjay, Ganesh Satish, Apoorv Wankhade, Jitesh Sharma (WK), Aditya Sarvate, Akshay Karnewar, Harsh Dubey, Darshan Nalkande, Yash Thakur, Lalit Yadav, Nachiket Bhute, Umesh Yadav. Coach: Sanjeev Sharma. Manager: Manoj Sakpal. Physio: Dr Nitin Khurana. Trainer: Yuvraj Singh Dasondhi. Video Analyst: Aniruddha Deshpande.
Delhi: Shikhar Dhawan (C), Anuj Rawat (wk), Nitish Rana, Yash Dhull, Ayush Badoni, Himmat Singh, Vaibhav Khandpal, Jonty Siddhu, Lalit Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Pradeep Sangwan, Hrithik Shokeen, Ishant Sharma, Dhruv Shorey, Yogesh Sharma, Mayank Yadav, Shivank Vashisht, Lakshay Thareja.