Cong leaders detained for protests over Rahul’s questioning by ED
   Date :15-Jun-2022

Cong leaders detained for protests 
SEVERAL Congress leaders, including K C Venugopal and Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, were detained for violating prohibitory orders outside the heavily barricaded party headquarters here on Tuesday, the second day of Rahul Gandhi being questioned by the ED.
Ahead of his questioning by the ED on Tuesday, Gandhi joined senior party leaders at a “dharna” at the Congress headquarters, where the Chief Ministers of Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh -- Ashok Gehlot and Bhupesh Baghel -- were also present. All India Congress Committee (AICC) General Secretary Priyanka Gandhi Vadra was also present at the protest at the Congress headquarters, along with party MPs and workers. Several Congress leaders were detained by the Delhi Police and taken to different police stations. Some leaders, including MPs, were not even allowed to enter the AICC headquarters and were taken away in police vans to different police stations. Lok Sabha MP Manickam Tagore said he and some other leaders, including P L Punia, were not allowed to enter the Akbar Road party office and were detained at the Mandir Marg police station. Among the other leaders detained were Randeep Surjewala, Jairam Ramesh, Gaurav Gogoi, Deepender Singh Hooda, Ranjeet Ranjan, Jeby Mather, Imran Pratapgarhi, Youth Congress chief B V Srinivas and National Students’ Union of India (NSUI) chief Neeraj Kundan, with some of them even roughed up.