BJP, Cong win 2 seats each in K’taka MLC polls
   Date :17-Jun-2022

BJP, Cong win 2 seats


THE ruling BJP continues to have a majority in the Karnataka Legislative Council, as the party managed to win one teachers’ and graduates’ constituency each in the recently held biennial elections, while the Congress too managed to win one each.
The results are seen as a setback for the JD(S) as the party lost both the seats it represented last time and did not win any fresh seat; while for Congress it is a two seats gain, as none of the four seats that went to polls were held by the party before going for polls.
Though the ruling BJP has managed to win two of the four seats that went for poll and maintain its majority in the upper House of the StateLegislature, the party faced a setback with the defeat of its MLC Arun Shahapur, who was seeking re-election from one of the teachers’ constituencies. While the results for both the teachers’ constituencies were announced on Wednesday night, two graduates’ seats’ poll results were announced on Thursday.
With the outcome of poll results, the 75-member Legislative Council will have 39 BJP members, 27 Congress and eight JD(S), and one independent member.
Of the two seats for which results were declared today, the North-West Graduates’ seat witnessed a direct fight between BJP and Congress, with JD(S) not in the fray.