Only 10 States have set up committees for dam safety, says Government
   Date :17-Jun-2022

dam safety 
WITH less than 15 days to go for the deadline, only 10 States have formed the State Committee for Dam Safety (SCDS) while six have formed the State Dam Safety Organisations (SDSO), a top Jal Shakti Ministry official said on Thursday.
The SCDS and SDCO are two bodies that are mandatory under the Dam Safety Act, 2021 that was cleared by the Parliament in December 2021. The status information was shared by Sanjay Awasthi, Joint Secretary, Department of Water Resources, River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation under the Ministry, at a day-long national workshop on ‘Dam Safety Act, 2021 for dam safety governance in India’ attended by various Ministry officials, Ministers and officers from state government teams, representatives of PSUs that run or own dams etc.
These committees are to be formed by June 30. “The time left is so less, we appeal all the State to form their respective committees at the earliest and implement the Act in toto,” he appealed.