Purvi, Karan, Sharwari, Purab win TT titles
   Date :24-Jul-2022

Sarth Shastri
Sports Reporter :
PURVI Kaur Renu, Karan Kashyap, Sharwari Khobragade and Purab Singh Renu won titles in their respective singles categories of the Maharajbag Club Open Ranking Table Tennis Tournament that began at RTM Nagpur University’s Table Tennis Hall, beside Subhedar Hall, on Saturday.
The event is being organised by Nagpur District Table Tennis Association (NDTTA). Purvi and Karan bagged their singles titles in the U-11 age group while Sharwari and Purab emerged winners in the U-13 categories. Purvi defeated Kevika Nandeshwar in four games (3-1) 11-13, 11-7, 11-6, 11-9. After losing the extended opening game closely, Purvi won three in a row to bag title. In the semis, Purvi beat Sharwari 11-4, 11-3 while Kevika defeated Tanisha Kolare 9-11, 11-5, 11-8. In the boys final, Karan got the better of Akshad Gupta also in four games. Karan also lost the opening game but came out with improved performance to pocket the title (3-1) 6-11, 11-8, 11-5, 11-5. In the semis, he blanked Anmol Varade (2-0) 11-9, 11-6. In the U-13 girls final, Sharwari won the first two close games at 12-10 each and then sealed the crown with a 11-7 score in the third game against Anwesha Kashyap. In the last-four matches, Sharwari had defeated Purvi 11-7, 12-10, 11-7 while Anwesha blanked Vidhi Kumre 13-11, 11-8, 11-6. Purab also started his final by losing the first game against Sarth Shastri. Sarth won the first game 11-9 but Purab fought back to level the scores 1-1 taking the second at 11-9. Purab kept the momentum going pocketing the third and fourth games at 11-6 and 13-11 to triumph. He beat Karan in the semis, 11-1, 11-2, 11-7 with consummate ease. Sarth also looked convincing in his straight games win over Rishikesh Patil 11-9, 11-7, 11-5.