Rathi scores brace in BKCP victory
   Date :24-Jul-2022

Young and aspiring
 Young and aspiring footballers thronged the venue braving rains on Saturday.
Sports Reporter :
NIKUNJ Rathi slammed two goals as BKCP, Kanhan defeated Modern School, Koradi in their opening match of Under-17 Subroto Mukherjee Cup Football Tournament for boys in the rural category (schools outside city limit) that got under way at Divisional Sports Complex, Mankapur, Koradi Road on Saturday. Rathi scored his first goal in the 17th minute of play but the lead was nullified with Manthan Raut scoring in the 20th. Rathi restored the lead with his second gaol in the very next minute (21st) and while Utkarsha Rahate added one more in the 23rd to make it 3-1 for winners. In all, seven matches were played on opening day of the tournament that was postponed on a couple of occasions due to rains. Bhonsala Military blanked DPS Mihan 2-0.
Vansh Madaavi (4th min) and Nikhilesh Parate (15th min) were the goal scorers. Riding on Rohit Ramteke’s 5th minute strike, DPS, Kamptee defeated Mary Pospins, Kamptee 1-0. Poddar World, Koradi Road also recorded an identical win over Ira International. Aryan Meshram (30th min) helped the team record a 1-0 win. Parixit Thakur (8th min) and Ayus Patel (27th) found back of the net as K John, Asoli defeated St Joseph Fetri 2-0. In a closely fought match, SFS, Neemkheda pipped DPS Lawadhaba in the shoot-out. After the match was locked one all at end of the scheduled time, the match went into the tie-breaker.
SFS, Neemkheda managed to record a narrow 5-4 victory. One more game was decided via tie-breaker. After a goalless full time, MAK Sancheti beat Divine Providence 2-0. Mount Litera Zee School, Kamptee got a walkover as Edify School, Kamptee team did not turn up. The event has got good response as 25 teams are participating in the U-17 boys group and ten teams in girls category. In the boys U-14 group, 21 teams are taking part. At the outset, the event was inaugurated by District Information Officer Pravin Takey. Deputy Director, Sports Shekhar Patil, and District Sports Officer Pallavi Dhatrak were the guests of honour. Arthur Caled, retired PTI of St Xavier’s School, Hingna, welcomed the guests. Mohammad Mubin made introductory remarks while Sports Officer Anil Borwar proposed a vote of thanks.