BVMs rule the roost
   Date :28-Jul-2022
Sport Reporter
BHARATIYA Vidya Bhavan’s (BVM) Civil Lines and Trimurti Nagar branches emerged champions in the Primary and High School girls categories respectively in the 14th edition of LG Somalwar Memorial Inter-School Chess Tournament (Girls) got at Annasahib Somalwar Memorial Sabhagruha, on Wednesday.
The Primary School team comprising Vedika Pal (8) Saanvi Asawa (6), Shravani Kuchwah (5) and Anaya Sahu (4) accumulated as many as 23 points to wrest the title. In the High School group, the team consisting of Sri Rashmika M (7), Aastha Turankar (7), Riddhi Agrawal (7) and Prissha Rathod (5½) amassed 26.5 points to take the crown.
In the individual category in Primary girls category, Vedika won the event winning all her eight rounds. She was followed by Anvi Hirde of RS Mundle English School (7) and Vishwaja Deshmukh of BVM, Koradi (6) at the second and third spots.
In High School group, Himani Jethwani of CPS, Dabha finished on top with 8 points while the duo of BVM, Trimurti Nagar’s Sri Rashmika M and Bajaj Shraddha of Narayana Vidyalayam, Chinchbhavan finished second and third respectively with seven points each.
The 20th LG Somalwar Memorial Inter-School Boys Team Chess Championship for primary & high school will be starting from Thursday at 8:30 am with the reporting time being 8.00 am.
Primary Girls Final Ranking (After 8 Rounds): Pal Vedika (BVM, Civil Lines 8), Hirde Anvi (RS Mundle Eng School 7), Deshmukh Vishwaja (BVM, Koradi 6), Bagdia Kavya (BVM, SKN NG 6), Bante Aaradhya (BVM, TMT NG 6), Swaranjali Thawali (CPS, Dabha 6) Asawa Saanvi (BVM, Civil Lines 6), Amulyaa Chaudhari (CPS, WN 6), Chandankhede Divyanshi (CPS, Dabha 6).
High School Girls Final Ranking (After 9 Rounds): Jethwani Himani (CPS, Dabha 8), Sri Rashmika M (BVM, TMT NG 7), Bajaj Shraddha (Narayana Vidya, Chinchbhavan 7), Aastha Turankar (BVM, TMT NG 7), Agrawal Riddhi (BVM, TMT NG 7), Kumbhalkar Anisha (BVM, SKN 7), Lakshita Kranti Rathod (Speak & Span School 7), Mishrikotkar Vidhi (PNPS 7), Vritika Krushna Game (Somalwar, Maa Umiya 6), Wairagade Rashi (BVM, SKN 6).