Singh shines at VGA golf meet
   Date :14-Nov-2023
Singh shines
Sports Reporter
CITY’S Anuj Singh clinched the VGA Golf Championship with a record-setting two-under 70 score. The 2023 edition of the Vidarbha Golf Association (VGA) Annual Golf Championship took place at AKSTA golf course. A total of 104 golfers competed in different divisions of the tournament. Singh’s stellar performance showcased incredible ball-striking and putting skills. He achieved six birdies and ten pars, with pivotal birdies on the 14th and 16th holes. In addition, Col Pravin Sharma delivered an outstanding performance, securing the runner-up position with a score of 78 which included two birdies and eight pars. Ahmed claimed the title of Best Net Score winner with a score of 75 with 13 pars and a birdie.
In veterans’ category, Pramod Deshpande and Col SJ Majumdar (retd) achieved identical gross scores of 46. Using the count back method, the trophy was awarded to Col Majumdar. In ladies putting, Jainice Rebello emerged the winner and Neeta Gosewade finished runner-up. The prize distribution ceremony was graced by Air Marshal and VK Garg, AVSM, VSM, Senior Maintenance Staff Officer of Maintenance Command, Nagpur. AVM Sandeep Rawat VSM, Chairman AKSTA and Executive committee of VGA felicitated the winners. Sqn Ldr Abhinav Mahajan, Secretary, AKSTA, conducted the programme. Other results: Best Net Score Winner – Quazi Ahmed. Runners Up – Maj Gen Vasudesh Arya.
Longest Drive – Wg Cdr Manoj Mudliar. Maximum Pars and Birdies –RS Khurana and Dr Eknath Chaudhary (tied). Closest to the Pin – Jayant Darvekar. Closest to Centre Line – Gp Capt RS Pawar. Closest to the Pin after 2nd Shot – Subhash Chandra. Veterans (65 years and above – played over 9 holes): Winner – Col SJ Majumdar (retd). Runner-Up – Pramod Deshpande. Longest Drive – Lt Col NG Thakre (retd). Closest to Centre Line – DK Sasan. Closest to the Pin – Dipankar Moitra. Super Veterans (75 years and above – played over 9 holes): Winner – Maj Gen Glenn Ford (retd). Runner-Up – Lt Col Mrigendra Singh (retd). Ladies Championship (played over 9 holes): Winner: Neelu Rawat. Runne-Up –Ruchira Pande. Juniors Championship (played over 9 holes): Winner –Maanya Agrawal. Runner-Up –Saqlain Ibrahim.