Archer Amit Kumar qualifies for final, Saloni Kirar secures 4th position
   Date :02-Feb-2023

Archer Amit Kumar 
Sports Reporter
MP State Archery Academy Jabalpur’s Amit Kumar qualified for final round while Saloni Kirar secured fourth position in Khelo India Youth Games, on Wednesday. Besides this, Maharashtra, Odisha, Delhi and West Bengal in boys and Maharashtra, Karnataka, Odisha and Punjab team in girls have qualified for semi-final round of Kho-kho tournament. On first day of the Archery Competition Recurve Boys, Rajasthan’s Rampal Choudhary topped the points tally with 667 points while Madhya Pradesh’s Amit Kumar (664 points) and West Bengal’s Juyel Sarkar (657 points) secured second and third positions. In Recurve Girls, Haryana’s Ridhi, Bhajan Kaur and Tamnna secured top three positions with 654, 639 and 627 points.
In Compound Boys, Andhra Pradesh’s Thirumuru Ganesh Mani topped the tally with 702 points while Haryana’s Kushal Dalal (699 points) and Maharashtra’s Tejbeer Singh Jahagirdar (692 points) on second and third positions. In Compound Girls, Delhi’s Aishwarya Sharma was first with 705 points while Maharashtra’s Aditi Gopichand Swami (697 points) and Punjab’s Parneet Kaur (691 points) secured second and third positions.
In the Kho-kho tournament of boys group, Andhra Pradesh registered a sensational victory over Andhra Pradesh team by a close margin of only 2 points while Madhya Pradesh team registered its maiden victory over Telangana team by the lead of 2 points while Maharashtra continued its victory run by registering victory over West Bengal by the margin of 14 points and Delhi routed Odisha team by the lead of 18 points.
In girls category, West Bengal defeated Rajasthan team by the lead of 14 points while Tamilnadu registered victory over Madhya Pradesh by the lead of 6 points. Maharashtra registered one-sided victory over Punjab by the lead of an inning and 8 points while Odisha defeated its closest opponent by the lead of an inning and 4 points.
First semi-final match in boys category will be played at 3:30 pm between Maharashtra and Odisha while Delhi and West Bengal teams will clash in second semi-final. Semi-final matches of girls category will be played between Maharashtra and Karnataka and Odisha and Punjab teams.