City hoopsters are Vidarbha champions
   Date :02-Mar-2023

Vidarbha champions 
Sports Reporter
NAGPUR’S men basketball team emerged champions in the MLA Cup Vidarbha-level Invitational Basketball championship at the District Stadium in Chandrapur. The two-day tournament was organised by Chandrapur Basketball Academy under the guidance of MLA Kishor Jorgewar. In the final, the seven-member Nagpur team defeated Amravati 84-70 to lift the trophy and a cash prize of Rs 25,000. For the winners, Tanuk Gurnule (34) and Prajwal Choudhary (18) did the bulk of scoring.
After taking the lead, Nagpur cagers didn’t look back and registered an easy 14-point victory. The quarter-wise progress for Nagpur read 23-20, 23-18, 20-13, 18-19. Earlier in the semi-final, Nagpur made light work of Bramhapuri 72-55 with Abhiram Tapas (15) and skipper Rajat Pawar (11) scoring baskets at will.
RESULTS: FINAL: Nagpur (Tanuk Gurnule 34, Prajwal Choudhary 18) bt Amravati (Abhishek 37) 84-70 (23-20, 23-18, 20-13, 18-19).
SEMI-FINAL: Nagpur (Abhiram Tapas 15, Rajat Pawar 11) bt Bramhapuri (Shubham R 34) 72-55 (14-14, 11-19, 25-10, 22-12).