WB, Odisha-based gang of thieves busted in city, 5 members arrested
   Date :12-Sep-2023

WB, Odisha-based gang  
Staff Reporter
Combine team of Crime Branch and District Police busted a gang of thieves belonging to West Bengal and Odisha and arrested five members involved in around one dozen theft cases in Jabalpur and adjoining districts. The cops seized stolen jewellery amounting to Rs 5 lakh. The arrested have been identified as Mohammed Rony Shekh (29), son of Montu Shekh, a native of Dinapur in West Bengal and currently living in Belbagh, Mohammed Firoz (25), son of Farhan Shekh of Dinapur in West Bengal and currently living in Belbagh, Mohammed Aarif (25), son of Mohammed Jaihul, a native of Sundargarh in Odisha and currently living in Belbagh, Shubho Shekh (26), son of Gulzar Shekh of Sundargarh in Odisha and Mohammed Raju Shekh (19), son of Mohammed Sahiddul Shekh of Dinapur, West Bengal and currently living near Dangal Maidan in Belbagh.
Superintendent of Police, Tushar Kant Vidyarthi disclosed this while addressing a press conference, on Monday. He informed that the accused were involved in around one dozen theft incidents reported in Lordganj, Vijay Nagar, Adhartal, Seoni district and Hoshangabad district. SP T K Vidyarthi informed that taking a serious note on increasing numbers of theft incidents, special campaign was started under the supervision of Additional SP (City), Priyanka Shukla, Additional SP (Crime), Summer Verma, CSP, Kotwali, Prabhat Kumar Shukla. During the campaign, SHO of Lordganj police station, Pratiksha Marco received information about some suspects. Continuing a thorough search, police nabbed the five suspects. In the interrogation, accused broke-out and confessed one dozen theft incidents. SP Vidyarthi added that the accused were roaming in the residential areas for door-to-door selling of utensils and clothes for recce of houses to materialise theft.
Thieves were apprehended with active working of police team led by SHO, Lordganj, Pratiksha Marco, Yadav Colony Chowki in-charge, SI, Dinesh Gautam, Head Constable, Rajiv Singh, Constables, Vijay, Rupesh, Virendra, Manvendrad, Anurag, Sainik, Saurav Shukla, Crime Branch’s ASI, Dhananjay Singh and ASI, Ashok Mishra.