Polls: BJP’s second list may have candidates for high profile seats
   Date :15-Sep-2023

candidates for high profile seats 
By Bhavana ‘Aparajita’
In poll-bound State, ruling BJP is ahead in making consensus to select candidates for the upcoming Assembly elections. The party is all set to declare second list of candidates soon. Most importantly this list will have majority of names for Gwalior and Chhindwara regions and some of these seats are being seen as high profile ones. In this list, the there may be 35-40 candidates. Among the prominent seats are Lahar in Bhind district and Chhindwara are taken in to the account and names for these seats are included in this list. Amrish Guddu’s name is emerging as the prospective candidate from Lahar Assembly seat of Bhind district against Congress veteran and Leader of Opposition in Assembly Govind Singh. While Imarti Devi, known for her loyality to Jyotiraditya Scindia, from Dabra of Gwalior district is almost certain to figure in the list. Rest of the names include Kal Singh from Thandla Assembly seat of Jhabua, Manoj Patel from Depalpur in Indore district, Arvind Pateria from Rajnagar seat of Chhatarpur district, Brij Bihari Pateria from Deori seat of Sagar district, Mohan Singh Rathore from Bhitarwar assembly seat of Gwalior district.
On the basis of the party’s performance in the last a few elections the organisation has formed four categories namely A, B, C, D for the seats, according to the party sources. In C and D categories, the party faced defeat since last a few elections or won by a narrow margin. The second list may contain names of all the seats that the saffron camp lost or won with narrow margin in the last Assembly elections. Currently, Congress State President and former CM Kamal Nath is the MLA from Chhindwara. The saffron party may put up Vivek Sahu from there. MP Rao Udaypratap Singh’s name is making rounds for Tendukheda (Narsinghpur). The BJP election committee has finalised the names. Approval to these names has been given in a high-level meeting attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Union Home Minister Amit Shah in New Delhi on Wednesday night.