Nidhi strike helps Eagle win title
   Date :17-May-2024

Nidhi strike  
Sports Reporter
A SUPERB solo effort from Nidhi Verma handed Eagle Sports Club the title as the team pipped Squadron Football Club by a solitary goal in final of the JSW NDFA Women’s League Football Tournament that concluded at Dr Ambedkar Football Stadium in Suyog Nagar on Thursday evening. After taking control of the ball, Nidhi dodged as many as three rival defenders before shooting from the top of the rectangle. Squadron goalkeeper was reduced to a mere spectator as her powerful shot saw the ball sail into the nets. Players from both the teams tried their best to get themselves registered on the scoresheet but none was successful. Winners Eagle Sports Club took home a cash prize of Rs 15000 and a glittering trophy while runners-up Squadron were richer by Rs 10000 and a trophy.
Eagle’s Nidhi Verma and Vedika Mourya were adjudged as Woman of the Match and Best Goalkeeper respectively wining a purse of Rs 3000 and Rs 2000. Sneha was declared Player of the Tournament and received a cash reward of Rs 3000. Trupti Sakhare pocketed Rs 2000 for being Best Player from losing team. Haresh Vora, President, Nagpur District Football Association, was chief guest of the prize distribution function. Iqbal Kashmiri, Secretary; Dr Stanley Gregory, General Secretary; Atamaram Pandey, Kamal Ansari, Khalid Ansari, AB Khan, Abid Khan, Mohammad Mubin, Adnan Ali, Mohammad Kalim, Shantanu, Ankush Bhadange and Hemant Sahani were among those who were prominently present. THE WINNING TEAM: Vedika Mourya, Mahima Pandey, Veronica Anthony, Annie Anthony, Malvika Tembhurne, Akanksha Shelare, Sejal Sonare, Nidhi Verma, Sneha Uikey, Mahek Sheikh, Mayuri Marathe, Saffiya Sayyad, Rinky Yadav, Riya Sharma, Rakshanda Sonekar, Samidha Kashikar, Sellina Bhoyar.