BJP returns to power in Arunachal Pradesh for third time in a row
   Date :03-Jun-2024

BJP returns to power
THE BJP on Sunday returned to power in Arunachal Pradesh for the third time in a row, as the party won 46 seats in the 60-member Assembly and secured a majority, Election Commission officials said. Votes were counted for 50 Assembly segments for which elections were held in the northeastern State along with Lok Sabha polls on April 19. The rest 10 seats were won by the BJP uncontested. Of the 50 seats, the BJP secured 36 seats and Chief Minister Pema Khandu is one of the 10 candidates who won unopposed. Taking to X, Prime Minister Narendra Modi said, “Thank you Arunachal Pradesh! The people of this wonderful State have given an unequivocal mandate to politics of development. My gratitude to them for reposing their faith in @BJP4Arunachal yet again.
Our Party will keep working with even greater vigour for the State’s growth.” The PM also said, “I would like to appreciate the hardwork of the exceptional @BJP4Arunachal Karyakartas through the election campaign. It is commendable how they went across the State and connected with the people.” Modi also appreciated the hardwork of the ‘exceptional’ BJP workers in Arunachal Pradesh through the election campaign. “It is commendable how they went across the State and connected with the people,” he said. The BJP had won 41 seats in 2019. The National People’s Party (NPP) bagged five seats, while The People’s Party of Arunachal won two seats and the NCP secured three. The Congress won one seat, and Independent candidates emerged victorious in three constituencies.