Tanvi, Vishwashree hit hat-tricks as DPS begin with a bang
   Date :05-Jul-2024

Tanvi, Vishwashree 
Sports Reporter
THE duo of Tanvi Meena and Vishwashree Sonskar scored hat-tricks as Delhi Public School (DPS) began Subroto Mukherjee Cup Football Tournament with a bang. The inter-school soccer tourney got underway at the Divisional Sports Complex, Mankapur football ground on Thursday. On the opening day, Tanvi and Vishwashree excelled scoring three goals each for DPS Kamptee and DPS Lava respectively in the Under-17 girls event (Rural). DPS Kamptee hit School of Scholars, Beltarodi for a six with Tanvi (1st, 3rd, 11th) being assisted by Ayesha Parveen (7th, 22nd) and Anishka Singh (18th). Vishwashree’s three (6th, 15th, 18th) came in DPS’ 4-0 win over Podar International Godhani. The fourth goal for the winners was scored by Arya Thakre.
Riding on a goal from Mushka Tayde, Bhavan’s Ashti edged past Jain International 1-0. In an another high-scoring game, Pragatik, Koradi blanked K John, Pipla 5-0. Vanshika Mate gave the team 2-0 lead scoring in the 3rd and 5th minutes of play. Renuka Kuranjekar (16th), Shruti Ghodakade (20th) and Sakshi Vaidya (21st) struck once each to complete the rout. In the NMC school matches, BVM Civil Lines pipped Narayana Vidyalayam with a second minute goal from Agatha Borkar. St Joseph’s Convent also recorded an identical win over Centre Point School, Katol Road. The lone strike came from Riaama Henry. St Vincent Pallotti eves got the better of Centre Point School, Wardhaman Nagar 2-1. Vaibhavi Dhongade and Rachel Jogi scored for the winners while Jaonisha Panchmatia pulled one back for the losers.
St Ursula moved ahead in the tourney courtesy Bhavan’s Shrikrishna Nagar’s no show. With Princee Singh’s double strikes (2nd, 22nd) and a goal from Lavanya Kharabe, Centre Point School, Dhaba blanked Bhavan’s Civil Lines 3-0. The District Sports Office organised sporting season started with soccer. At the outset, DSO Pallavi Dhatark inaugurated the event. Sports Officer Anil Borwar and Arthur Caleb were prominently present on the occasion. In the tourney, 15 teams from Under-17 Boys Rural; 18 teams from Under-17 Boys NMC; 14 each form Under-15 Boys Rural and NMC. Nine NMC and 8 Rural teams are competing in the Girls Under-17 group.